Guest Blog by Robert Pickstone

We’re very pleased to have Robert do a follow up as part of #BeMyGuest month. He wrote a very interesting article back in January 2010 that caused a lot of on-line debate (including my first ever comments on a public forum!). It was a perfect example of how blogs can be a great source of free information for individuals and business – the inputs and outcomes of an on-line debate can fire up a host of new ideas and approaches.  We’d love to have your comments on any aspects of our blogs – let’s get a debate going!

Is it wrong for others to write your company blog? Part 2

As part of #BeMyGuest month, I am writing the following blog post for Sue Windley (@DangerousMkting). Sue was kind enough to participate in the issue I talk about below, I agree with the thinking behind #BeMyGuest and I hope someone finds my post useful and valuable.

A few months ago I wrote a blog post called “Is it wrong for others to write your company blog?“. I saw something online that caused an emotional reaction, and with blogging and sharing opinions being so quick and easy, I decided to put my thoughts out there and online into the blogosphere.

I had a strong opinion when I wrote the blog. I wasn’t exactly sitting on the fence with my viewpoint. After much discussion and debate about the issue at hand, I came out the other side having learnt quite a few things:

  • There is no shame in admitting that your understanding of an issue is better after a debate than it was before. Comments from readers can actually educate and inform a blogger. We cannot know everything about everything. Developing a greater understanding of an issue does not mean your opinion has to change, it just gives your opinion a stronger basis.
  • Being bold and saying what you really feel, rather than sitting on the fence, is likely to result in a blog post that people want to respond to. It doesn’t mean you have to rant or go over the top but there is nothing wrong with letting readers know exactly what you think, as long as you are willing to back it up.
  • Receiving comments that disagree with your post can be a good thing – they spark debate. Debate can lead to new relationships being formed and should lead to those involved learning more about a subject.

To find out if the discussion that took place following my blog post actually changed my opinion on “others writing company blogs” is something you will have to find out for yourself by having a look (sorry, I couldn’t resist) – I have certainly learnt a lot though and I’m now far less afraid of throwing my opinion out there.

Robert is a marketing officer for Business Link. He writes a personal blog that covers Social Media, Marketing and Business. He is also active on Twitter and LinkedIn. He welcomes engagement and conversation on all of these platforms and would be delighted to hear from you.

5 Responses to “Guest Blog by Robert Pickstone”

  1. Robert Pickstone Says:

    Hi Sue,

    Thank you for posting this.

    What are your views on the 3 main points I make in my post?

    Thanks

    Rob

  2. Dangerous Marketing Says:

    Interesting article, Robert and thank you for guesting. I think your three points demonstrate a high level of emotional intelligence with regard to blog writing – being brave enough to welcome debate and disagreement – and not being afraid to change your point of view depending on the feedback. This is exactly what blogs should be about! We learn far more by examining and dissecting something rather than simply taking information at face-value. People quickly see through someone who is bland and wants to be all things to all people – something our politicians should note!! Long live opinionated debate!

  3. March is #BeMyGuest Month | Pragmatic Performance Group News Says:

    […] Robert Pickstone wrote a follow up post to a piece he had done on his blog Is it wrong for others to write your company blog? […]

  4. March 2010 #BeMyGuest – Thank You to all our Contributors | Dangerous Marketing's Blog Says:

    […] Robert Pickstone’s Is it wrong for others to write your company blog? […]

  5. #BeMyGuest Blog by Robert Pickstone « Dangerous Marketing's Blog Says:

    […] part of #BeMyGuest month, we’re very pleased to have Robert do a follow up – Is it wrong for others to write your company blog? Part 2 – to his original piece that caused a lot of on-line debate (including my first ever comments […]


Leave a comment